Thirty Days of Music: #15

Yeah, I’ve been slacking lately, I know.  It was my birthday, but now it’s not, so I should be back to posting on the semi-regular.  I’m not going to flood you, mythical reader, with a ton of content to catch up to the thirty days.  Don’t want anything lost in the shuffle.  So let’s just take it as we come, and go from here, with that distance behind us.  OK.  Now then.

“day 15 – a song that describes you.”

African Dope is a pretty, uh, dope record label out of Cape Town, South Africa.  Lots of pretty compelling hip-hop and electronica coming out of them, and some pretty cutting-edge design and promotional ideas.  I think they really get it on how to survive and thrive in this new post-modern, mass-culture, niche-market world.

I heard this song sometime back in 2006 or 2007, living in Missouri, a long way from Cape Town.  It spoke to me on a few levels.  For a long time, I’ve been wrestling with ways to turn my myriad ideas, concepts, and designs into something tangible that I can share with people.  It’s not out of some ego-driven desire for fame and fortune (but that’s a post for another day).  I don’t give a shit about that.  I just want to make things.  I want to take my thoughts and make them into something else, be it a drawing, painting, story or movie.  And that is what I think separates the creators from the consumers- they can turn something ephemeral into something that reaches other people.  They have the ideas, sure, but we all have ideas; they also have the self-discipline to rearrange their life to pursue their goals.  To me, this song is about getting your shit together and making it happen.  And when it pops up on random play, I get all sorts of pumped up.

Maybe I need to take it off random play and make it my alarm clock, or something.  Anyhow, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

