Thirty Days of Music: #12

“day 12 – a song from a band you hate.”

I didn’t used to hate AFI- I loved their old stuff, namely the ‘Very Proud Of Ya’ album that (once again) Adam introduced to me.  But from that southern California mid-90s punk sound, they degenerated into that mid-00s emo-punk shitstorm that claimed so, so many.  They went commercial.  But was this more a function of me being the age I was?  Were they already commercial from the get-go, and updated their sound for maximum profit, and I attached some erroneous label of artistic integrity that never should have been there?  Possible.  But the hell with ’em anyway.  At least I got two good albums out of them.

Leave a Reply

